From Willpower to Will to Live

As I’ve written before in my post Back, I lost both my parents unexpectedly at young ages. Mom was only 53 and my Dad was 62. Dad passed away from a massive heart attack, and Mom passed away by a pulmonary embolism that was triggered by a heart attack.

I am 32… I shouldn’t have to start counting my years yet…

I have gone on numerous diets… I have started great workout routines only to later quit them. I didn’t have the willpower to keep going.

Willpower… What a useless thing in the end.

Why do we always say that? “Wow, she must have amazing willpower!” “I wish I had the willpower” “Man, soon as I work up enough willpower I can do it”

NO! STOP IT!

Forget about willpower and find your will to live!!! This is not a game anymore. You need to take care of your health!

I had this epiphany as I was fixing myself a salad (even without dressing, just a dab of extra virgin olive oil and dash of sea salt and no cheese) as everyone around me was eating Chinese take-out. Chinese food… One of my favorite foods. I realized that even though I teased them about wanting some… I really didn’t. The smell was wonderful, but I had no desire whatsoever to eat that food, a food that used to be a major weakness of mine.

Then it hit me.

I want to live longer than my parents did… I want to watch my daughter grow up to become a successful young woman, marry, and have her own family if she so desires. I want to see her make her dreams come true. I want to be there for her in trying times to whisper advice and smile. I want to look at her with a kind wrinkly face and share wisdom with her when she feels lost…

And in order to do this I don’t need willpower at all. I have found my will to live, and that’s all I need. The will to live, the will to be on this earth as long as I can for my daughter and fiance, the will to survive.

I cannot stress this enough!!!

Stop wanting to lose weight, stop wanting this or that person’s physique, stop wanting to look different. Stop the main focus on image! Realize that you only get this one life to live. Once. That’s it. No second chances, no do-overs… This is all you got. Don’t you want to make that as long as possible?

Start with eating habits… Nutrition is everything. I don’t care if you can’t workout, that is actually secondary to nutrition. Don’t get me wrong, exercise is very important but nutrition is more important. Everything starts in the kitchen. I’m not saying go vegan or anything… Just take more care into what you put into your body. Don’t look at calories, fats, etc… Look at the ingredient  list. Be knowledgeable about what you are putting into your system. You’ll be shocked by how many chemicals, preservatives, and dyes you expect your system to handle when it can’t. Once you cut these things out you will feel so much better! You’re entire digestive system will thank you, and your body will show appreciation by giving you more energy. Don’t starve yourself, just eat smart. Don’t over stuff yourself. Stop when you are full. Want a snack? Nuts, veggies, berries… Freeze dried fruits and veggies are amazing! I will be posting more on nutrition, so if you’re interested, feel free to stick around!

And something huge I’ve noticed with my change in diet…

I do not feel as depressed or anxious as before!

This is after only one month of eating healthier! One month! I look forward to seeing the difference 2 months will make… 6 monthes… A year!

If you want to live a long and healthy life, stop the fads. Stop the crash diets, the shakes, all the bullshit on the infomercials and sales people will feed you. Stop the gimmicks. Start living life. It actually is not hard to make healthy choices and they can taste even more delicious than the crap you’re probably consuming now.

If you want to live long, happy, and healthy… You have to change your lifestyle, not go on some fad cleanse or diet or whatever.

You have to find your will to live, your will to survive… And when you have, you will be full on ready to take on such changes for better health.

Health is more important than anything. We only get this one life, and this one body… Don’t you think we should start taking care of it properly?

I’ll just leave this photo of last nights delicious dinner I made here…
img_20170122_185137

Ingredients:

  • Flour tortilla
  • Chicken breast
  • Bell pepper
  • Lettuce
  • Shredded cheese
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Rosemary
  • sea salt
  • white rice
  • organic butter
Leave a Reply

